#OneBraveNight Campaign Video!

 

Here’s the link you need to donate:

http://give.camh.ca/goto/kylarose

If you don’t know me my name is Kyla Rose and I am a Mental Health advocate and writer and a huge potty-mouth. Here’s some other things that you might not know about me: I also struggle with anxiety and depression, and everyone’s favourite, insomnia.

Late last year I had my no-nonsense guide to helping your partner when they were having a meltdown go viral. I received an unsettling amount of people contact me and tell me that this guide was helpful to them and that they were struggling themselves or struggling to support a partner who was suffering. What I realized was that in the conversation about mental health, the role of partners, family members, friends and lovers is largely ignored – which is absolutely ridiculous to me. Our partners and families and friends play a huge role in our mental wellness and our recovery and they often feel helpless and hopeless, and risk their own mental health in their efforts to help us.

So, over one little blog post, that I had actually written a couple years ago, and had no intention of going public with, and was really scared to share, I found an active, loving, and open community of people who were looking for more resources. That is when I decided to start writing the Meltdown Guide Workbook, which is still in progress.

In an effort to make sure I was being responsible – Not a healthcare professional- I approached some wellness experts I knew, and mental health advocacy groups and foundations in Canada to get some feedback and guidance on how to deliver the resources and make sure that I was being responsible and offering this group of people resources that would actually make a difference.

That is when I found the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health. They were super jazzed about my work and offered to help me in anyway that they could. I was able to get on the phone with a couple of their people and they were not only delightful human beings, they were willing to do whatever it took to support me and my community. They saw the value in my work and got behind me 100%.

So when they suggested I get involved with the One Brave Night campaign, it was an easy yes.

I have never, ever done a fundraising campaign before, and I know there is a lot of things going on in the world right now that are worthy of your time, your energy and your extra cash but here’s the thing – without sound mental health, we can’t continue to fight to good fight. The issues that are plaguing us today will not be overcome if we can’t overcome our own demons. Mental strength and resilience and creating the space to end the awkwardness and stigma that still attaches itself to conversations about mental health, in the end will forward all of these causes.

Mental illness doesn’t discern by country or religion or skin colour, sexuality or creed but it is compounded by the systemic and cultural injustices of our society. By taking care of each other, by taking care of ourselves, we are forwarding the human cause. When we are well we can fight another day, we can give back to our communities, we can create change and innovate.

The issues that are plaguing us today will not be overcome if we can’t overcome our own demons. Mental strength and resilience and creating the space to end the awkwardness and stigma that still attaches itself to conversations about mental health, in the end will forward all of these causes. Mental illness doesn’t discern by country or religion or skin colour, sexuality or creed but it is compounded by the systemic and cultural injustices of our society.

By taking care of each other, by taking care of ourselves, we are forwarding the human cause. When we are well we can fight another day, we can give back to our communities, we can create change and innovate.

When we feel better, the world will feel better. So, that is why I am asking you to throw down some moolah for the cause. Whether you forgo a coffee today so you can throw down a couple bucks, or you have some bills burning a hole in your pocket that need to find a good home, I hope you consider donating.

So, the actual One Brave Night campaign will be taking place on April 7th. I’m an insomniac so I am inviting you to stay up with me all night. I will be doing a live broadcast/chat all day, where you can come visit me, say hello, and I hope to have a couple different people on talking about their stories, mental health, and other good stuff. I will be releasing more details about that closer to the date, and a schedule of events close to the date.

In the meantime, donate. Pretty please. And congrats on getting to the end of this post, you’re a Rockstar.

To get more information about my live stream on April 7th, you can subscribe to my newsletter here, follow me on Twitter @thewritewhale, or like my page on Facebook here.


If you or someone you know is struggling, please consider seeking professional help. You’re not alone, and no matter how ashamed or weird or fucked up you feel, there are people trained to help you work through it and get on with your life. If you want to talk, I am a proud affiliate of TalkSpace, the most economical online therapy around. Talk to a therapist anytime, anywhere for as little as $32/week

Leave a Reply

